BTEC National Extended Certificate in Information Technology

Exam Board: Edexcel

You will study four units over the duration of the course. Units 1, 2 and 3 are mandatory and also includes an optional unit. Unit 1 is a formal exam and Unit 2 is a controlled piece of assessment—both of these are marked externally. Unit 3 and Unit 4 are coursework-based and marked internally. 

This is a specialist qualification that focuses on particular aspects of employment within the vocational sector. As such the award offers a qualification which can extend study and provide vocational emphasis. They give you the knowledge, understanding and skills that you need to prepare for employment. It is broadly equivalent to one A-Level and is graded as Pass, Merit or Distinction (P/M/D). 

Typical units include:

Unit 1: Information Technology systems
Unit 2: Create systems to manage information 
Unit 3: Social media
Unit 4: Spreadsheet modelling


60% examination / 40% coursework


General college entry requirements only plus a recommended grade 4 or above in a GCSE ICT qualification.

Where can it lead?

University courses

Computer Science/Information Communications Technology/Programming/Website design


Technical support/helpdesk / ICT technician / Multimedia designer

Career paths

PC sales support / Programmer / IT software trainer / Systems analyst  / ICT consultant

Subject Video