BTEC Extended Certificate in Engineering

Exam Board: Edexcel

This qualification provides a broad basis of study for the engineering sector. This course contains four units of which three are mandatory and two are assessed externally.

The three mandatory units that will be covered are:

Unit 1 Engineering principals: Learners will apply mathematical and physical science principles to solve electrical and mechanical based engineering problems.

Unit 2 Delivery of Engineering Processes Safely as a Team: Learners explore how processes are undertaken by teams to create engineered products or to deliver engineering services safely.

Unit 3 Engineering Product Design and Manufacture: Learners will explore engineering product design and manufacturing processes and will complete activities that consider function, sustainability, materials, form and other factors.


Grade 9–5 in GCSE English, Mathematics and Science

Where can it lead?

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Engineering is designed for learners who are interested in a career in the engineering sector and want to progress to further study in the sector. They will be able to combine this with other qualifications, such as a GCE A-Level in Mathematics or Physics, which would allow them to progress to higher education to study engineering or other STEM-related programmes.

The qualification is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements for many relevant courses in a variety of areas of the engineering sector, for example:

This qualification also supports progression to job opportunities in the engineering sector. Jobs that are available in these areas include:

Subject Video